Skip to main content

Table 6 Health research governance policies and institutions

From: Governance of health research in four eastern and southern African countries

Element Botswana Kenya Uganda Zambia
Science, technology and innovation (STI) legislation None - 1977 1st STI Act (amended in 1979)
- 2013 2nd STI Act
- Uganda National Council for Science and Technology (UNCST) Act 1990 -1997 National Science and Technology Act
National STI policies/plans - 1998 STI Policy
- 2005 STI Plan
- 2012 Research, Science, Technology and Innovation (RSTI) Policy
- 2008 STI Policy - 2009 STI Policy
- 2012 STI plan (2012–2018)
- 2009 STI policy (revised in 2006 and 2009)
Health research legislation None - Health Act of 2017 (contains legislation pertaining to health research) - 2011 Uganda National Health Research Organization (UNRO) Act - 2013 National Health Research Act
National health research policy None - 2019 Research for Health Policy   - 2010 National health research policy
National health research strategic plan None - National Research for Health Priorities (2019–2023) - 2012 UNRO Health Research Policy - 2008 National health research strategic plan (2008–2011)
- 1999 National Health Research Agenda
Oversight of national research overall - Ministry of Infrastructure, Science and Technology (Department of Research, Science and Technology) - Ministry of Education (Directorate of Research Management and Development)
- National Commission for Science, Technology and Innovation (NACOSTI)
- National Council for Science and Technology (UNCST)
- Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation
- Ministry of Science, Technology and Vocational Training
- National Science and Technology Council
Oversight of health research - Ministry of Health and Wellness, Department of Health Research, Policy and Development, Health Research Unit - Ministry of Health, Research and Innovation Division, Health Research Office
- National Health Research Committee
- Uganda National Health Research Organization - National Health Research Authority, under Ministry of Health
Ethical review systems
(note—institutional review board abbreviated IRB)
- Health Research and Development Committee (HRDC)
- IRB, University of Botswana
- IRB in some hospitals
- 27 IRBs accredited by National Bioethics Committee (under NACOSTI)
- Kenya Medical Research Institute Scientific Ethics Review Unit (KEMRI SERU)
- IRB, Amref Health Africa
- IRB in some hospitals and universities
- 23 IRBs are accredited by the UNCST - National Health Research Ethics Board
- ERES [Excellence in Research Ethics and Science] Converge
- IRB, University of Zambia